About Elon


Alamance Building and Fountain at Elon


Elon University is a private liberal arts university of about 5,000 undergraduate and graduate students located in Elon, North Carolina.  Elon was founded in 1889 and it now has five academic schools. The School of Communications; Elon College, the College of Arts and Sciences; the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business; the School of Education; and the School of Law.  Between the schools Elon had 50 undergraduate majors.

In 2009, U.S.News & World Report named Elon the nation’s #1 “school to watch” in its “America’s Best Colleges guide.” In 2006, Newsweek-Kaplan named Elon the hottest college in the nation for student engagement.  

Elon prides itself on engaging its students in what it names the Elon Experiences.  Students are require to complete at least one of the five experiences in order to graduate.  The Elon experiences are: volunteer service, internship, study abroad, leadership, and undergraduate research.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s